Two Pieces for Social Alternatives

I can’t remember how, but I started to publish for Social Alternatives, University of the Sunshine Coast’s journal in Australia. I liked that it published poetry as well as peer-reviewed articles. It seemed very grass roots and honest. I put two pieces into Social Alternatives, Narrating Visual Landscapes and Occupational Health. They are both concerned with how to ‘see’ and ‘show’ on contemporary western capitalist landscapes. The first is about visual, documentary practice, the second about some experiences at HBOS, a bank that was collapsing through the floor as I wrote the article. I remember some quite pronounced nervousness from Social Alternatives over this article, only the first time, something that prepared me for a future as a fairly outspoken writer.

Leave a Reply

